A Mystery to me.

I have for years been trying to decipher the signatures on two documents for the maiden name of an ancestor, Sarah Ann Day. And I can’t seem to come up what the exact name for her. Sarah’s last name is on two of her sons’ marriage records though not recognizable.

It is spelled something like Sutsil on her son John’s marriage record. (right below)

This images is on Sarah’s son IRA’s marriage record.

I have tried all of these: Suchel, Suchal, Sushel, Sichel or even Gutsil, Gushel and a few more. GASKILL is my latest search which so far is the only name that shows up in other people’s family trees that I have a small connection with. Yet I have no direct DNA, one on one, with anyone.

AND, both documents seem to be filled out by the same person back in the 1880s.

Any guesses? ~JAN

Leave a comment