My sister, Doris Day on The Gary Moore Show in 1959

When Doris was 11, my mother got a phone call from a kid who had gone to school with my older sister. She couldn't understand what he was saying, something about could Doris be on TV.
My mother thought it was a hoax and hung up. Then a man called a few more times and she hung up again.
Well, about an hour later Gary Moore called himself. He started the conversation with "Don't hang up, Mrs. Day. I'm really Gary Moore and we would like your daughter to take the place of the actress, Doris Day who is sick."
That got her attention. The father of the boy who called earlier, was a camera man on the show. Hearing of the shows' dilemma the son told of a former classmate having a sister with that name. 
So from there that started the ball rolling, and the phone calls were made.
My father drove Doris to New York City to make her star appearance. For her performance, Doris got a Schwinn bike, $500 and a case of Winston cigarettes, for my father to smoke. 


Video on Youtube:
https://youtu.be/XtnBPiYNmAg

Doris passed away on the 26 Nov 2017. 

https://www.findagrave.com/memorial/257793229/doris-ann-day

2 comments

Leave a comment